Ad Honorem Sir Andrew J. Wiles

leave a comment »

wilesOn May 24, 2016, Sir Andrew J. Wiles received the Abel Prize in a ceremony held in the Aula of the University of Oslo in Oslo, Norway. Wiles, who received the prize from H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon at the award ceremony, was the fourteenth recipient of the 6 million NOK (about 750,000 USD) prize. A prize honoring the Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel was first proposed by the world-renowned mathematician Sophus Lie, also from Norway, and initially planned for the one-hundredth anniversary of Abel’s birth in 1902, but the establishment of the Abel Prize had to wait another hundred years. The Abel Prize is administered by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters…

Written by physicsgg

February 24, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: