physics4me

physicsgg

NASA has captured a new radar image of asteroid 2005 YU55

with one comment

This radar image of asteroid 2005 YU55 was obtained on Nov. 7, 2011, at 11:45 a.m. PST (2:45 p.m. EST/1945 UTC), when the space rock was at 3.6 lunar distances, which is about 860,000 miles, or 1.38 million kilometers, from Earth. CREDIT: NASA/JPL-Caltech

NASA has captured a new radar image of 2005 YU55, the huge asteroid due to make a close approach to Earth tomorrow (Nov. 8).

The agency’s Deep Space Network antenna in Goldstone, Calif. snapped the image at 2:45 p.m. EST (1945 GMT) today (Nov. 7), when the aircraft-carrier-size 2005 YU55 was about 860,000 miles (1.38 million kilometers) from Earth, NASA officials said.

Full size of previous image

http://www.space.com

Written by physicsgg

November 8, 2011 at 7:17 am

Posted in ASTRONOMY, ASTROPHYSICS

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 11-11-11, make a wish, bitches.

    quetzalcoatl

    November 9, 2011 at 2:56 am


Leave a Reply to quetzalcoatl Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: